light years away but close

remember when you read
me a nazm about human connection?
i did not ask you but i kept thinking
if human suffering could take up space,
would it cover the distance between our hands?
(i think it would)

rumi had said, from a distance
we could only see light in people.
and let me tell you i see galaxies
colliding inside your ribcages
with bob dylan classics
as background score.
to the rhythm of
i-wasn’t-born-to-lose-you,
i dig my way through
your galaxy so desperately
that it makes my heart
feel claustrophobic
inside my own body.

so i drink in sunshine which is identical
to your presence. and glow like split
stars that are shoved inside your gut.
you have crescent moon for eyesโ€”
heavy with incompleteness
and heartache. and i address
all my love poems to you
with hope of completing you
a little- tucked between my fingers
where i lightly hold my pen,
where your hands should be.
i put them in the pocket
of an old biege shirt that hangs
behind my bedroom door.

when i think of peaceful places,
i think of your hands that are not
big enough to hold all the love
you embodyโ€”so you give some
to everyone in brown paper bags.
when memory floods my bosom
and drench my heart, i wear
my dull shirt, gulp down
a mouthful of lovesick air,
write you another letter
and place it in my chest pocket
which is close to my heart-
where you are.

Leave a comment